Jump to main content

Hunt Institute for Botanical Documentation

Lawrence Memorial Award

The Lawrence Memorial Award commemorates the life and achievements of Dr. George H. M. Lawrence (1910–1978), founding director of Hunt Institute (1960–1970). Since its inception in 1979, the award has aided 27 doctoral candidates with travel costs in support of dissertation research.

Nominations for the 2020 Lawrence Memorial Award

The Lawrence Memorial Fund Award Committee, which includes representatives from Hunt Institute, The Hunt Foundation, the Lawrence family and the botanical community, invites nominations for the 2020 Lawrence Memorial Award.

The annual (semiannual from 1988 to 2000) award in the amount of $2,000 is given to an outstanding doctoral candidate for travel in support of dissertation research in systematic botany or horticulture or the history of the plant sciences, including literature and exploration. The award is presented at the annual banquet of the Botanical Society of America.

The recipient of the award is selected from candidates nominated by their major professors. Major professors are urged to nominate outstanding doctoral students who have achieved official candidacy for their degrees and will be conducting pertinent dissertation research that would benefit significantly from travel enabled by the award. Nominees may be from any country and the award is made strictly on the basis of merit—the recipient's general scholarly promise and the significance of the research proposed. The committee will not entertain direct applications. A student who wishes to be considered should arrange for nomination by his/her major professor; this may take the form of a letter, which covers supporting materials prepared by the nominee. Supporting materials should describe briefly but clearly the candidate's program of research and how it would be significantly enhanced by travel that the award would support.

Letters of nomination and supporting materials, including seconding letters, should be received by the Committee no later than 1 May 2020 and should be directed to:

Dr. T. D. Jacobsen
Hunt Institute for Botanical Documentation
Carnegie Mellon University
5000 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3890 

For any questions, Dr. Jacobsen may also be reached via phone (412-268-2434) and email (tj50@andrew.cmu.edu).

Lawrence Memorial Award Recipients, 1979–2019

Hunt Institute has been presenting the Lawrence Memorial Award since 1979. When choosing a recipient, the award committee evaluates a candidate's general scholarly promise and the significance of the research proposed. As evidenced by the achievements of the previous recipients, the award committee has made some excellent choices over the years.

Michael J. Balick (1979)

Ph.D., Harvard University, 1980

Director and Philecology Curator, Institute of Economic Botany, New York Botanical Garden

James M. Affolter (1980)

Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1983

Director of Research, The State Botanical Garden of Georgia; Professor, Department of Horticulture, University of Georgia

Janet R. Sullivan (1982)

Ph.D., University of Oklahoma, 1984

Adjunct Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences and Collection Manager, Hodgdon Herbarium, University of New Hampshire

Raymond B. Cranfill (1983)

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 2001

Mark W. Chase (1984) 

Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1985

Director, Jodrell Laboratory, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew

George E. Schatz (1985)
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1987

Curator, Africa and Madagascar Department, Missouri Botanical Garden; Adjunct Professor, University of Missouri, St. Louis

Andrew J. Henderson (1986)

Ph.D., City University of New York, 1987

Curator, Institute of Systematic Botany, New York Botanical Garden

John V. Freudenstein (1987)

Ph.D., Cornell University, 1992

Director, Herbarium
, Museum of Biological Diversity, Ohio State University

Clayton J. Antieau (1988)

Ph.D., University of Washington, 1987

Senior Wetland Ecologist and Botanist, Washington State Department of Transportation

Chester E. Wilson (1990)

Ph.D., State University of New York at Stony Brook, 1992 

Professor, Biochemistry Department, University of St. Thomas, Minnesota 

J. Travis Columbus (1992)

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1996 

Research Scientist, Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden, Claremont, California and Professor of Botany, Claremont Graduate University

Kathleen M. Pryer (1994)

Ph.D., Duke University, 1995

Professor, Biology Department, Duke University 

Amy J. Litt (1996) 

Ph.D., City University of New York, 1999

J. Chris Pires (1998)
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison, 2000
Associate Professor of Biological Sciences, University of Missouri, Columbia

Anne Katherine Hansen (2000)

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, 2004

Andrew L. Hipp (2002)

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin—Madison, 2004

Plant Systematist & Herbarium Curator, Morton Arboretum 

Sarah E. Edwards (2003)

Ph.D., University of London, 2006

Data Services Officer: Medicinal Plant Names Services, Biodiversity Informatics and Spatial Analysis, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew

Danica T. Harbaugh (2004) 

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 2007

Research Scientist, University and Jepson Herbarium, University of California, Berkeley

Ricarda Riina (2005)

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin—Madison, 2006

Researcher, Real Jardín Botánico de Madrid

Eric Schuettpelz (2006)

Ph.D., Duke University, 2007

Research Botanist & Assistant Curator, Department of Botany, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution

Jimmy Triplett (2007)

Ph.D., Iowa State University, 2008

Assistant Professor and Herbarium Curator, Department of Biology, Jacksonville State University

Dylan O. Burge (2008)

Ph.D., Duke University, 2011

The Lawrence Award was not presented in 2009.

Christine D. Bacon (2010)

Ph.D., Colorado State University
, 2011
Postdoctoral researcher, University of Gothenburg, Sweden

Brian Sidoti (2011)
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 2015
Adjunct Professor, Natural Sciences, State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota

The Lawrence Award was not presented in 2012.

Aleksandar Radosavljevic (2013)
Ph.D., Northwestern University

The Lawrence Award was not presented in 2014.

Keir Wefferling (2015)
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin—Milwaukee, 2018
Postdoctoral researcher, University of California, Berkeley

Andre Hahn (2016)
Ph.D., Oregon State University, 2018

The Lawrence Award was not presented in 2017, 2018 and 2019.

Other resources

For information about portraits of and biographical citations for the Lawrence Award recipients, see the Hunt Institute Archives Register of Botanical Biography and Iconography database.

George Hill Mathewson Lawrence (1910–1978), Rare Book Gallery of the Hunt Botanical Library (now Reading Room of the Hunt Institute), ca.1960–ca.1967, 25 × 20 cm, photograph by the Public Relations Office of Carnegie Institute of Technology (now Carnegie Mellon University), HI Archives portrait no. 8.