Jump to main content

Hunt Institute for Botanical Documentation


2016 Lawrence Memorial Award recipient

4 August 2016

The Hunt Institute is pleased to announce that Andre Hahn, a student of Dr. Michael Osborne at Oregon State University, is the recipient of the 2016 Lawrence Memorial Award. The proceeds of the award will help support Hahn's travel for further archival and library research of Goethe's influence on 20th-century plant morphologists.

The Lawrence Memorial Award commemorates the life and achievements of George H. M. Lawrence (1910–1978), founding director of Hunt Institute (1960–1970). The annual (semiannual from 1988 to 2000) award in the amount of $2,000 is given to an outstanding doctoral candidate for travel in support of dissertation research in systematic botany or horticulture, or the history of the plant sciences, including literature and exploration. The recipient of the award is selected from candidates nominated by their major professors. Nominees may be from any country, and the award is made strictly on the basis of merit—the recipient's general scholarly promise and the significance of the research proposed. The award committee includes representatives from the Hunt Institute, the Hunt Foundation, the Lawrence family and the botanical community. The award is presented at the annual banquet of the Botanical Society of America.

About the Hunt Institute for Botanical Documentation

The Hunt Institute for Botanical Documentation, a research division of Carnegie Mellon University, specializes in the history of botany and all aspects of plant science and serves the international scientific community through research and documentation. To this end, the Institute acquires and maintains authoritative collections of books, plant images, manuscripts, portraits and data files, and provides publications and other modes of information service. The Institute meets the reference needs of botanists, biologists, historians, conservationists, librarians, bibliographers and the public at large, especially those concerned with any aspect of the North American flora.

Media Contact:
Scarlett T. Townsend